1988-1989 NHL Team Labels


3p2untbmlxzipnrhyess   fysjocn1uqcgbhsi879r

dbtvpm7ie0th2osdxuq2tf6g3  7my1epdyc09jyz8imatwxz5g5


These are the 1988-1989 NHL Team Labels.  They include the team logo, record, final standing, playoff result, award(s), Head Coach(es), Captain(s), Arena, Capacity, Uniforms, and any other secondary or commemorative logo.  Please see the first blog post for general instructions on printing/application of the labels

1988-1989 nhl team labels


This season IS currently available for purchase from Strat-O-Matic: 1988-1989 6 Team Card Set (with printable file)

Strat’s Description:

Fire on Ice:

  • Calgary Flames win first Stanley Cup in McDonalds’ final season
  • Trophy Habs: Montreal’s Roy (Vezina), Chelios (Norris) win top awards
  • Score Four: Lemieux, Gretzky, Yzerman, Nicholls with 150+ points

    Full SummaryThe 1988-89 NHL ended emotionally. Calgary’s only Stanley Cup championship to date was ultra-popular future Hall of Famer Lanny McDonald’s only Cup – in his final season. Mario Lemieux, Wayne Gretzky, Steve Yzerman and Bernie Nicholls all had at least 150 points, as Lemieux topped the league with 199 points, 85 goals and 114 assists. Lemieux, Nicholls (70) and Yzerman (65) all had at least 65 goals.

    These are the six-pack of carded teams:

    Calgary: 51-goal scorers Joe Mullen and Joe Nieuwendyk joined future Hall of Famers Doug Gilmour, Al MacInnis and McDonald in a star-studded cast that included Hakan Loob, Gary Sutter, Gary Roberts, Theoren Fleury and Mike Vernon.

    Montreal: The Stanley Cup finalist had Vezina Trophy winner Patrick Roy in goal (2.47 goals-against average and .908 save percentage, both league-bests) and Norris Trophy winner Chris Chelios on defense, Selke Trophy winner Guy Carbonneau at center and future Hall of Famers Larry Robinson and Bob Gainey. The Habs weren’t all defense – 13 men were double-figure goal scorers, led by Mats Naslund (33) and Bobby Smith (32).

    Detroit: Steve Yzerman (65-90-155), Gerard Gallant (39-54-93) and Adam Oates (16-62-78) led the Red Wings to the Norris Division title.

    Los Angeles: The highest-scoring team in the league (376 goals) had Gretzky (54-114-168), Nicholls (70-80-150), Luc Robitaille (46-52-98) and four others who had at least 25 goals each.

    Pittsburgh: Lemieux (85-114-199), Rob Brown (49-66-115), defenseman Paul Coffey (30-83-113) and Dan Quinn (34-60-94) didn’t beat out Washington for the Patrick Division title, but sure had fun trying.

    Washington: The Patrick Division winners had Geoff Courtnall (42 goals), Mike Ridley (41 goals) and future Hall of Famers Scott Stevens, Rod Langway, Larry Murphy, Mike Gartner and Dino Ciccarelli.

    Powered by official averages and stats with exclusive Strat-O ratings;

    Enhanced by hundreds of hours of unique Strat-O research and statistical analysis

    18 cards per team. Additional players – and all teams – available on the print disk that comes with card set.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s