1982 MLB Labels


These are the 1982 MLB Team Labels.  They include the team logo, record, final standing, Playoff Result, Manager(s), Ballpark, Capacity, Uniforms, Weather Ratings, Ballpark Effect Ratings, and any other secondary or commemorative logo.  Please see the first blog post for general instructions on printing/application of the labels.  This set may be re-done in the future with fence height included

1982 Team Cards



This season IS currently available for purchase from Strat-O-Matic: 1982 Baseball Cards

Strat’s Description:

  • Hare beats Tortoise: Fleet Cardinals win 7-game Series against Wall-banging Brewers
  • Four great races: Tight division finishes won by St. Louis, Atlanta, Milwaukee and California
  • Speed to burn: Rickey Henderson sets base-theft record (130)

For the first time, Strat-O-Matic upgrades a 1980s season to Super Advanced format and what a beauty this one is. Nine teams finished within three games of first place in their divisions, the AL playoffs went the full five games and the World Series the full seven before St. Louis, which hit the fewest home runs in the majors (67), beat Milwaukee, which hit the most (216).

The Cardinals benefited from the arrival of SS Ozzie Smith to win its first World Series in 15 years with improved speed (NL-best 200 stolen bases) and defense. Milwaukee changed managers in mid-season; under Harvey Kuenn, “Harvey’s Wallbangers” included Gorman Thomas, Ben Oglivie and Cecil Cooper, who each topped 30 HR, and AL MVP Robin Yount, a shortstop who delivered a .331-29-114 season. Pete Vuckovich (18-6 for the Brewers) won the AL Cy Young. The Brewers reached the post-season by beating Baltimore on the final day of the regular season. It was the first season in Baltimore for Rookie of the Year Cal Ripken Jr. and the last for legendary Orioles Manager Earl Weaver.

Elsewhere, Reggie Jackson joined California and the Angels won the AL West. NL MVP Dale Murphy (36 HR, NL-best 109 RBI) and Phil Niekro (17-4) led Atlanta to its first division title since 1969 … Oakland’s Rickey Henderson swiped 130 bases, still the all-time record … Philadelphia’s Steve Carlton won 23 games and the NL Cy Young.     

27 cards per team … Two-sided cards for basic, advanced and super-advanced play


1982 Team Cards_Page_11  1982 Team Cards_Page_08

1982 Team Cards_Page_24  1982 Team Cards_Page_25

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s